Cupcake-a-licious- Bespoke cupcakes that take frosting to new heights

I came across Cupcake-a-licious– a beautifully bespoke Cupcake business at Epsom Downs Wedding fair in September and I cannot tell if it was the super glittery sparkles or the frosted mountains of icing that caught my attention- all I saw was a tower of twinkles… and I wanted one!

Without hesitation my siIMG_7549ster and I bought 10 cupcakes (we did share them with our other half’s!) that varied from peanut butter chocolate, dark rich chocolate, red velvet & a gorgeous vanilla cupcake which was decorated with lashings of soft pink glitter icing shaped into a pretty rose petal.

Cupcake-a-licious offer a variety of delicious cupcake collections and flavours such as Lemon Meringue Divine, Cupcake Alaska, Midnight Orange and Chocolate Heaven. Each generously sized cupcake is decorated with heaps of icing and glitter. They also offer personalised cakes, sparkly cupcake parties, Valentines, Hen & Stag parties the list goes on..

I had a dessert buffet at my wedding and the abundance of cakes, cupcakes, macaroons etc were a delight for the eyes and tummies! Don’t think myself and all my girlfriends could get to the cake table quick enough! I think Cupcakes are a great alternative for weddings as someone can always take it away with them or eat them in their own time. I’ve been told by so many brides that the wedding cake never got eaten, half eaten and even left behind! I had cupcakes and a 2 tier vanilla & strawberry wedding cake and within minutes the cupcakes had disappeared! Its a great concept and you can style them to fit in with your wedding as well.

After munching on my cupcake and my husband finishing off his, I had to get in touch with Laura at Cupcake-a-licious to find out more about her sparkly cakes.

WW: What inspired you to make such amazing cupcakes?unnamed

CL: I starting making cupcakes 6 years ago this October.  It was my sister’s 30th birthday and I thought it might be fun to make some cupcakes for her party.  My sister loves pretty things, so I tried to make them as pretty and fun as I could.  They went down a treat and people started asking me to make for their parties.  I love fun, bright and of course sparkly things so try and bring this over to the cupcakes.  They make people happy to look at and eat them and that makes me happy too!

WW: What flavours are the current cupcake trends for brides to be at the moment?

CL: Vanilla is always a firm favourite, closely followed by lemon and chocolate.  But for those wanting to be a bit more adventurous, red velvet is becoming increasingly popular.

WW: What’s been your favourite cupcake to make for a wedding so far?

CL: My favoucake 2rite cupcakes to make for a wedding so far would have to be the first wedding I ever did. The bride had about 500 mini sparkly cupcakes with a little butterfly on each.  It took forever to make them all and I spent hours setting them up, but I was so proud of my first wedding tower and they looked so pretty.

WW: Where do you find you inspiration for new recipes?

CL: I seem to just make things up as I go along. I always listen out for what’s currently hot, for example, Salted Caramel is very trendy at the moment.  But then there are other flavours I just like the idea of.  I always remember my Mum making us Baked Alaska puddings when we were younger and thought it would be nice as a cupcake, so hence there is now Cupcake Alaska.

WW: What advice would you give to a bride who can’t decide between cupcakes or a traditional wedding cake?

CL: I would always say, go for what you want to do.  Both traditional wedding cakes and cupcake towers can look equally amazing. However, in my experience, guests always seem to have a fun time looking at all the different types of cupcakes on a tower and it’s always a bit of a sparkly show stopper and crowd pcake 3leaser.  It’s also fun for them to pick their own gorgeous cupcake and look and enjoy it rather than a slice of cake. But it all depends on your theme and style of wedding.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cupcake-a-licious really make show stopper cupcakes, whether for your wedding or party I would highly recommend them. They also feature at Epsom Market on Saturdays if you can’t wait until your wedding day and need a super cupcake fix. Please visit their website below for more details on their delicious cakes.

xx

http://www.cupcake-a-licious.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

